Background Color:
Background Pattern:

Collaboration With HES

International Organisations

  • International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
  • CompuSim AB, Sweden
  • Laboratory Simulator Systems, Moscow
  • Engineering Physics Institute, Russia
  • Institute of Nuclear Research of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences
  • (Atomki), Hungary
  • Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB), Germany
  • Korea Atomic Energy Research Institute (KAERI), Korea
  • Australian Nuclear Science & Technology Organisation
  • (ANSTO), Australia
  • Budapest Neutron Centre, Hungary
  • POLATOM, Poland
  • V.G. Khlopin Radium Institute (KRI), Russi
  • European Union (CARBOWASTE Consortium)

Local Organisations

  • Mintek
  • Shimoda Biotech (Pty) Ltd.
  • iThemba Laboratory for Accelerator-Based Sciences
  • DebTech, De Beers
  • National Cultural History Museum
  • McGregor Museum
  • Expertise in Geophysics (EXIGE)
  • Citrus Research International (CRI)

Government Departments / Public Entities

  • Department of Science and Technology (DST)
  • Technology Innovation Agency
  • DST/NRF Centre of Excellence in Strong Materials

Local & International Tertiary Institutions

  • University of the Free State
  • Stellenbosch University
  • University of KwaZulu Natal
  • University of Cape Town
  • North-West University
  • University of Pretoria
  • Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University
  • Sheffield University, Britain
  • Pennsylvania State University, United States of America
  • The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel
  • University of Johannesburg

R&D Staff Involvement in Training and Capacity Buidling

Necsa Scientists are actively involved in two university training programs related to radiation and/or nuclear science training. The first is the Masters in Radiation Science and Technology at North West University. Four associate professorships are filled by Necsa personnel, namely Dr. Jan Rijn Zeevaart and Dr. Arnaud Faanhof, both of Radiochemistry, Dr Andrew Venter of the Diffraction Section of Radiation Science and Dr W.C.M.H. Meyer of Nuclear Waste Research. In addition two other Necsa personnel members are official lecturers for this course. The second post graduate training course is the Masters in Science and Organisation of Nuclear Energy for the University of Johannesburg. Here four Necsa scientists present course work on the Necsa site. For both these post graduate courses Necsa offer and supervise second year MSc projects.